Northwestern College
Ramaker Library Home

Databases A-Z


A-Z | Subject/Major | Top 10 | Trials

ABCDEFGHIJKLMNOPQRSTUVWXYZ

A

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
A large database covering a variety of disciplines. Contains mostly full-text articles, both scholarly and popular. Updated daily. Some journals are covered as far back as 1965; others have only current coverage.
Coverage: 1965–present
Subject areas: Multidisciplinary
Type: Full text

 
ACS (American Chemical Society)
An online journal archive that provides access to selected titles published by ACS. Use this database to find the highest-quality articles in chemistry and related fields.
Coverage: 1879–present
Subject areas: Biology, chemistry, biochemistry
Type: Full text

 
America: History & Life
An index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada from 1964 to present. This database includes citations and links to book and media reviews as well as citations to abstracts of dissertations. Direct links to full-text articles from JSTOR and Project Muse are also provided.
Coverage: 1964–present
Subject areas: U.S. history, Canadian history
Type: Citation index

 
America’s Historical Newspapers – Iowa
This resource covers 6 Iowa historical newspapers during the mid 1800’s including the Sioux City Journal, Daily State Register (Des Moines) and Burlington Gazette. The articles include News and Opinion pieces, Letters, Poetry, Advertisements, Legislative Acts, Speeches, Death Notices and Prices of commodities. Note: Work within the parameters of the display software for the best representation.
Subject areas: Communication Studies, English, History

 
Annual Reviews
Provides authoritative reviews in disciplines within the biomedical, physical, and social sciences. Annual Reviews save time by synthesizing the vast amount of primary research literature and identifying the principal contributions in a particular field.
Subject areas: Biomedical sciences, political science, psychology, social science
Type: Full text

 
ArchiveGrid
An important online resource for searching through historical documents, personal papers, and family histories held in archives around the world. Thousands of libraries, museums, and archives have contributed nearly a million collection descriptions to ArchiveGrid. Researchers searching ArchiveGrid can learn about these collections, contact archives to arrange a visit to examine materials, and order copies.
Subject areas: History

 
ARTbibliographies Modern
An index to journals, books, dissertations and exhibit reviews on all forms of contemporary and modern art. Includes photography, theatre arts, crafts, ceramics and ethnic arts, as well as traditional media including illustration, painting, printmaking, sculpture and drawing.
Coverage: 1977–present
Subject areas: Art
Type: Citation index

 
Article First
An index to the contents page of journals in the sciences, social sciences and humanities. Updated daily.
Coverage: 1990–present
Subject areas: Business, humanities, science, social science, technology
Type: Citation index

 
ARTstor
Note: In order for ARTStor to work properly, you will need to turn-off your pop-up blocker and add ARTstor.org to your trusted sites. For help, please watch this online tutorial. If installed, you may also need to disable Google Toolbar.

ARTstor is a searchable digital library of approximately 550,000 images in art, architecture, painting, photography, sculpture, and decorative arts with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. ARTstor is comprised of contributions from museums, photographers, scholars, special collections at libraries, and photo archives. Users with Instructor privileges can organize image groups into shared folders and upload personal images to the ARTstor platform.
Subject areas: Art, History, Religion

 
ATLA Religion (EBSCO)
The American Theological Library Association’s index to journals, essays and book reviews on topics in biblical studies, world religions, church history, theology and religion in social issues. The definitive index for religious and theological literature.
Coverage: 1818–present
Subject areas: Religion, theology
Type: Citation index

 
Return to top
 


US News & Report Americas Best Colleges 2009Member Council for Christian Colleges & Universities