Databases

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Type:Full text
Coverage:1975–present
Subject(s):    Multidisciplinary

A large multi-discipline full-text database.


ACS (American Chemical Society)
Type:Full text
Coverage:1879–present
Subject(s):    Chemistry, physics

An online journal archive that provides access to selected titles published by ACS.


Agricola (National Agricultural Library)
Type:Citation index
Coverage:1970-present
Subject(s):    Agriculture, Biology, Business, Chemistry, Ecology

A catalog and index to the materials of the National Agricultural Library.


America: History & Life (EBSCO)
Type:Citation index
Coverage:1910-present
Subject(s):    American & Canadian history

A large index to journals, books & media dedicated to the history of the United States and Canada.


Ancestry.com
Type:Full-text
Subject(s):    History, genealogy

A genealogical research tool containing census records, military records, directories, church histories, family histories, and more.
Limit: 5 users at a time


Annual Reviews
Type:Full text
Subject(s):    Anthropology, biology, biomedical sciences, political science, psychology, sociology

A database of primary research literature and principal contributions in particular fields.


ARTstor
Type:Images
Subject(s):    Art, history, religion

A searchable resource of more than one million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences.
NOTE: To use ARTstor, it is necessary to turn off any pop-up blockers.


ATLA Religion (EBSCO)
Type:Citation index
Coverage:1908–present
Subject(s):    Religion

An index to journals and essays that focus on topics in religion.


AtoZ World Culture
Type:Full text
Subject(s):    Foreign language, kinesiology, political science, sociology

A database covering major topics relating to society and culture for 175 countries.


Biological Sciences (ProQuest) Popular
Type:Citation index with full-text
Coverage:1982-present
Subject(s):    Biology

A database providing comprehensive coverage of biological science fields including animal behavior, aquatic life and fisheries, biochemistry, ecology, plant science, microbiology, immunology genetics, health and safety science, and more. Includes full-text from over 1,200 journals.


BioOne
Type:Full text
Coverage:2000-present
Subject(s):    Biology

A searchable collection of high-impact bioscience research journals from a community of independent society and organizational publishers.


Business Source Complete (EBSCO)
Type:Full text
Subject(s):    Business

Includes scholarly business journals, case studies, reports on industries and markets, plus profiles on over 1 million public and private companies.


Cambridge Companions Online
Type:Full text
Subject(s):    English, history, music, philosophy, religion

A collection of searchable texts in classics, literature, music, philosophy, and religion.


CheckPoint
Subject(s):    Accounting, business

Tools for tax and accounting research. First-time users will need to set up an individual account; click here to register.


Choice Reviews Online
Type:Full text
Coverage:1987-present
Subject(s):    Multidisciplinary

A database containing reviews of academic books, electronic media, and Internet resources of interest to those in higher education.


CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCO)
Type:Full text
Coverage:1937 - present
Subject(s):    Nursing

A research tool for all aspects of nursing containing full-text scholarly journal articles, care sheets and quick lessons on diseases.
Limit: 4 users at a time


Classical Music Library
Type:Listening tool
Subject(s):    Music

A database of classical music recordings for listening and research covering music written in the earliest time to the present.
Limit: 2 users at a time


Communication & Mass Media Complete (EBSCO)
Type:Citation index
Coverage:1915-present
Subject(s):    Communications

A index of journals that cover topics related to communication studies, journalism and mass media.


Corporate ResourceNet (EBSCO)
Type:Full text
Coverage:1985-present
Subject(s):    Business

Contains information of particular interest to today’s companies with full text articles from nearly 1200 magazines and journals.


Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800
Type:Full text
Coverage:1639-1800
Subject(s):    English, history, religion

A major collection of primary source materials for the study of early American history including maps, novels, pamphlets, plays, poems, primers, sermons, and songs.


eBook Collection (EBSCO) Popular
Type:Full-text

Includes more than 125,000 full-text ebooks from leading academic publishers.


EBSCO Databases
Type:Full text
Subject(s):    Multidisciplinary

A suite of full text databases and citation indices in a wide variety of disciplines. Can be searched separately or together.


ERIC & Education Journals (ProQuest) Popular
Type:Citation index with full-text
Subject(s):    Education

The Education Resource Information Center's index to articles and documents from scholarly education literature, plus a database including over 1,000 full-text journals.


Films on Demand
Type:Streaming video
Subject(s):    Multidisciplinary

Thousands of documentaries, educational films, and instructional videos. Ranges from short clips to feature-length films.


Gale Virtual Reference Library
Type:Full-text
Subject(s):    Multidisciplinary

A searchable collection of over 80 subject encyclopedias.


GreenFILE (EBSCO)
Type:Full text
Coverage:1913-present (index), 1999-present (full text)
Subject(s):    Biology, multidisciplinary

An index to literature focused on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations, and local and national governments.


Health Source: Consumer Edition (EBSCO)
Type:Full text
Coverage:1985–present
Subject(s):    Health

A rich collection of consumer health information from over 80 magazines.


Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (EBSCO)
Type:Full text
Coverage:1975-present
Subject(s):    Health sciences, nursing

A resource of scholarly full-text journals focused mainly on nursing.


JSTOR
Type:Full text
Coverage:From the beginning of each journal
Subject(s):    Multidisciplinary

A full text archive of scholarly journals covering many disciplines.


Learning Express Library
Subject(s):    Test preparation

A collection of test preparation tools, including practice tests, for various graduate school entrance exams and career exams. Includes tools for NCLEX-RN, Praxis, GMAT, LSAT, MCAT, PCAT, and more.


Lexis-Nexis
Type:Full text
Subject(s):    Multidisciplinary

An extensive database of national and international newspapers as well as business, company, and legal information.


Linguistics & Language Behavior Abstracts (ProQuest)
Type:Citation index
Coverage:1973–present
Subject(s):    Linguistics

An index to literature concerned with the nature and use of language, speech, phonetics, and syntax.


Literature Criticism Online
Type:Full-text
Coverage:1973-2010
Subject(s):    English, literature

All issues of Contemporary Literary Criticism through 2010. Includes author biographies, criticism essays, and reviews.


McClatchy-Tribune Collection (EBSCO)
Type:Full text
Coverage:Previous 3 months
Subject(s):    Business, communications, political science

A 90-day archive of approximately 290 newspapers from the McClatchy-Tribune Information Services, the third-largest newspaper company in the United States.


Medline
Type:Citation index
Coverage:1966–present
Subject(s):    Biology, chemistry, nursing

A database of biomedical and life sciences journal citations from around the world.


MLA Bibliography (EBSCO)
Type:Citation index
Coverage:1920s–present
Subject(s):    Communications, English, theatre

The Modern Language Association’s index to criticism on literature, languages, linguistics, and folklore.


Morningstar Investment Center
Type:Full text
Subject(s):    Business, economics

Up-to-date information on mutual funds and stocks, along with detailed market data in the analysis reports.
Limit: 1 user at a time


New York Times
Type:Full-text
Coverage:1851-present

Online access to America's most well-known newspaper, including its archives.


Newspaper Source Plus (EBSCO)
Type:Full text
Coverage:1990s-present
Subject(s):    Multidisciplinary

An index to full text newspapers and television and radio news transcripts.


Oxford Dictionaries
Type:Full text
Subject(s):    Foreign Languages

An online language dictionary product covering Arabic, Chinese, English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Russian, and Spanish.


Oxford English Dictionary
Type:Full text
Subject(s):    Reference

The accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium.


Political Science (ProQuest) Popular
Type:Citation index with full-text
Subject(s):    Political science

A collection of databases covering political science, including Worldwide Political Science Abstracts and Public Affairs Information Service, plus full-text journals and dissertations.


Primary Search (EBSCO)
Type:Full text
Coverage:1990-present
Subject(s):    Education

A database of full text popular elementary school magazines along with many biographies and encyclopedias.


Project MUSE
Type:Full text
Coverage:1995-present
Subject(s):    Humanities, social sciences

A journal collection of digital humanities and social sciences content.


PsycARTICLES (ProQuest)
Type:Full text
Coverage:1894-present
Subject(s):    Psychology

A searchable database of peer-viewed, scholarly, and scientific articles in psychology.


PsycBOOKS (ProQuest)
Type:Citation index
Subject(s):    Psychology

An index to chapters in thousands of psychology books pubished primarily by the APA.


PsycINFO (ProQuest)
Type:Citation index
Coverage:1887–present
Subject(s):    Psychology

The APA’s premier abstracting and indexing database to scholarly literature in psychology.


PubMed
Type:Citation index
Coverage:1966–present
Subject(s):    Biology, nursing

Comprises more than 21 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.


Regional Business News (EBSCO)
Type:Full text
Coverage:1993-present
Subject(s):    Business

A database with full-text coverage for regional business publications.


RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (EBSCO)
Type:Citation index
Coverage:1967-present
Subject(s):    Music

The Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale (RILM) is an index to music publications from all over the world.


ScienceDirect
Type:Full text
Coverage:1995-present
Subject(s):    Biology, business, chemistry, nursing, physics, psychology

A large database of authoritative articles in the sciences including physical, life, health and social. Students, to obtain an article from ScienceDirect, e-mail the article author, title, and publication to reflib@nwciowa.edu; we will send you the article via e-mail.


Small Business Reference Center (EBSCO)
Type:Full text
Coverage:1990-present
Subject(s):    Business and economics

A resource for small business owners and those interested in starting a business.


Social Work & Sociology (ProQuest) Popular
Type:Citation index with full-text
Subject(s):    Social work, sociology

A collection of social work and sociology indices, including Social Services Abstracts, Sociological Abstracts, Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts, plus a number of full-text journals.


SPORTDiscus (EBSCO)
Type:Bibliographic
Coverage:1800-present
Subject(s):    Kinesiology

Bibliographic database covering sport, physical fitness, exercise, kinesiology, sports medicine, physical therapy and more.


Statistical Abstract of the United States
Type:Statistical tables
Coverage:1790-2013
Subject(s):    Sociology

Includes more than 600,000 statistical tables on hundreds of topics, such as human services, labor force, income, agriculture, and more.


Teacher Reference Center (EBSCO)
Type:Citation index
Subject(s):    Education

Abstracts for over 260 top periodicals and trade journals for educators.


TOPICsearch (EBSCO)
Subject(s):    Multidisciplinary

A current events database for researching social, political & economic issues.


Vocational & Career Collection (EBSCO)
Type:Full text
Coverage:1985-present
Subject(s):    Multidisciplinary

Full-text coverage of more than 330 trade and industry related periodicals including Modern Machine Shop, Pediatric Nursing, and Wireless Week.

Today's Hours
7:30 a.m. to midnight Research help desk1 p.m. to 4 p.m
6 p.m. to 10 p.m.
Ask a Librarian
E-mail
Phone
Chat

Introducing the Northwestern Review, an online open-access journal featuring faculty scholarship and published by DeWitt Library